Short stories, Flash fiction, and Novel Excerpts

Disaster

In Uncategorized, Writing on December 23, 2009 at 2:01 am

The land tolled as if struck.  Undulating waves of soil threw me to the ground.  Stunned, I watched my apartment building collapse in on itself.

“Noooooo,” I screamed.

All arguments and counters flew from my convulsing mind as I shuddered in time with the earth.  Tremors threatened to knock me off my feet as I raced to the rubble that was my life.

I dug, pulled, shoved, and fought my way to her.  Bleeding, broken, and impotent, the EMS carried me away.

I sat cradling my raw lacerated hands, the noise around me muted.  Someone close by asked me questions I couldn’t hear.

Roiling over and over through my mind were her last words.

“I called and called, why didn’t you answer your phone?”  She demanded.

“I didn’t know you called,” I replied, my temper rising.  “My phone died on me.”

“Why aren’t you ever around when I need you?”  She accused.

Mad, but not wanting to argue while my wife lay sick in bed, I stepped outside to have a smoke.

  1. I read so many pieces that are really sketches and not short stories; but this is a short story. One definition of flash fiction is a significant event given closure. The loss of one’s spouse is definitely a significant event. Well done.

Leave a Reply

