Short stories, Flash fiction, and Novel Excerpts

Lurker

In Writing on January 3, 2010 at 10:55 am

Photo

They didn’t know me, couldn’t know me, in this incarnation.  I watched them from the lurking shadows, poised to fall on the unwary.  Sitting among darkness and death, I remembered bits and pieces of my past life.  Misery and pain spun through spider webs of gossamer memory. 

Movement on the snow-dusted path snapped me from my reverie; another naïve trespasser passed into my domain.  My blood surged in anticipation, the short tussle, the scream of anguish and fear, and the taste of hot blood on my tongue.

My muscles tensed as my prey drew near.  The mouse would never know what hit it, I thought as my whiskers twitched.

Leave a Reply

